005. Two North-West Champions in 1906.

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

In the Winnipeg Tribune of March 2, 1906, it was reported that Magnus Smith ‘resigned’ the championship of the Northwest  Chess association and the associated Fraser Cup, and that a new tournament would commence. That tournament was won by R.J. Spencer.  The list of Northwest / Manitoba Closed champions is almost complete  https://mbchesshof.org/champions/; if the reader is able to supply any information regarding the gaps, please contact mbchesshof@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *